Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

SDSU’s Steve Fisher to receive a prestigious coaching award

Steve Fisher

San Diego State coach Steve Fisher talks about his team’s first round NCAA basketball tournament game against New Mexico State at a press conference Monday, March 17, 2014, in San Diego. (AP Photo/Lenny Ignelzi)


Steven Fisher was named the recipient of the 2015 John R. Wooden Legends of Coaching Award on Wednesday.

The award has been given out annually since 1999, meaning that Fisher is one of just 17 coaches to receive the honor; he’s the 14th men’s coach to win the award.

The award honors coaches that “exemplify Wooden’s high standards of coaching success and personal integrity”.

Fisher has been the head coach at San Diego State for 15 seasons, turning the Aztec program into one of the best on the west coast over the course of the last five years. They’ve won 20 games each of the last nine seasons, and since 2011, Fisher has won a National Coach of the Year award and been to two Sweet 16s. He was also the coach at Michigan during the Fab Five years.

Here is the complete list of coaches that have won the award, which more or less is a who’s-who of college basketball coaches:

2014 Tara VanDerveer, Stanford
2013 Bill Self, Kansas
2012 Geno Auriemma, Connecticut
2011 Tom Izzo, Michigan State
2010 Billy Donovan, Florida
2009 Rick Barnes, Texas
2008 Pat Summitt, Tennessee
2007 Gene Keady, Purdue
2006 Jim Boeheim, Syracuse
2005 Jim Calhoun, Connecticut
2004 Mike Montgomery, Stanford
2003 Roy Williams, Kansas
2002 Denny Crum, Louisville
2001 Lute Olson, Arizona
2000 Mike Krzyzewski, Duke
1999 Dean Smith, North Carolina