Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

Schmidt wins MVP as Notre Dame hands out year-end awards

Joe Schmidt

Joe Schmidt


Middle linebacker Joe Schmidt was named the 2014 team’s MVP on Saturday night, honored by his teammates with the top award at Notre Dame’s year-end awards show. Hosted by NBC’s Mike Mayock and WNBA star Skylar Diggins, “The Echoes” withstood a building-clearing plumbing issue to hand out 16 awards.

The highlight of the show was Schmidt’s acceptance of the award. On crutches with his leg still casted, Schmidt spoke briefly from the stage, calling the award, “Probably the greatest honor of my life.”

Sophomore Will Fuller was named the team’s offensive player of the year. Fellow sophomore Jaylon Smith was named the team’s defensive player of the year.

All 16 award-winners are below:

Scout Team Player of the Year: Offense - Tyler Plantz
Scout Team Player of the Year: Defense - Austin Larkin
Newcomer of the Year: Offense - Torii Hunter Jr.
Newcomer of the Year: Defense - Drue Tranquill
Special Teams Player of the Year - C.J. Prosise
Offensive Lineman of the Year - Ronnie Stanley
Irish Around the Bend - Kyle Brindza
Moose Krause Lineman of the Year - Sheldon Day
Father Lange Iron Cross - Christian Lombard
Pietrosante Award - Cam McDaniel
Rockne Student-Athlete - Corey Robinson
Tire Rack Play of the Year - Ben Koyack
Offensive Player of the Year - Will Fuller
Defensive Player of the Year - Jaylon Smith
Next Man In - Justin Utupo
Most Valuable Player - Joe Schmidt