Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

100th Indianapolis 500 team preview: A.J. Foyt Enterprises


during final practice on Carb Day for the the 99th running of the Indianapolis 500 Mile Race at Indianapolis Motorspeedway on May 22, 2015 in Indianapolis, Indiana.

Chris Graythen

A.J. Foyt’s four Indy 500 wins (1961, 1964, 1967, 1977) remain legendary and the all-time record, and he added another win as an owner with Kenny Brack in 1999. Things really haven’t been great for the Indy legend and his team at the ‘500 since the dawn of the new millennium.


Takuma Sato, No. 14 ABC Supply Co. Honda
Alex Tagliani, No. 35 Alfe Heat Treating Special Honda
Jack Hawksworth, No. 41 ABC Supply Co. Honda


It’s been a weird one. Sato’s overachieved on a couple of occasions and Hawksworth’s practice pace hasn’t translated into qualifying spots or results come race day. The team seems to have a better cohesion as a unit and is certainly further forward over the course of a weekend than it was last year, but isn’t carrying the consistency throughout the weekend.


Sato soldiered on after first-lap contact with Sage Karam last year, and only a late splash-and-dash prevented a possible top-five or likely top-10 finish in 2014. You know Sato will make things exciting for sure. Hawksworth needs a less dramatic month after last year and Tagliani, an Indy veteran, adds another set of data and will be better positioned having had the full month including the Grand Prix. It’s still hard to project too much for this group as a whole, unless their practice pace flatters.


  • 2015: 13. 14-Sato (24), 17. 48-Tagliani (20), 24. 41-Hawksworth (28)
  • 2014: 19. 14-Sato (23), 23. 41-Plowman (29)
  • 2013: 13. 14-Sato (18), 22. 41-Daly (31)
  • 2012: 29. 14-Conway (29), 31. 41-Cunningham (26)

Follow @TonyDiZinno