Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

Here’s how to watch the 2020 IndyCar season on NBC Sports

Looking ahead to the 2020 IndyCar season, the first under new league ownership after the Penske Corporation purchased IndyCar and IMS back in November of 2019.

There’s less than two weeks until the first round of the NTT IndyCar Series, and NBC Sports will return as the exclusive broadcast and streaming partner of America’s premier open-wheel racing series for the entire IndyCar 2020 schedule.

This year, NBC Sports will broadcast more than 300 hours of IndyCar content across NBC, NBCSN,, the NBC Sports app and NBC Sports Gold’s INDYCAR Pass.

NBC will air eight total races in 2020, highlighted by the 104th running of the Indianapolis 500 on Sunday, May 24.

The other seven races on NBC are the GMR Grand Prix on the Indianapolis Motor Speedway road course (Saturday, May 9), both races of the doubleheader weekend at Detroit’s Belle Isle Park (Saturday, May 30 and Sunday, May 31), Road America (Sunday, June 21), Mid-Ohio (Sunday, Aug. 16), and the final two races of the season at Portland (Sunday, Sept. 6) and Laguna Seca (Sunday, Sept. 20).

Extensive Indy 500 coverage

NBC also has expanded its Indianapolis 500 qualifying coverage for 2020, adding a second day of broadcast coverage and two additional hours on NBC. Indy 500 qualifying will air on Saturday, May 16 from 2-5 p.m. ET on NBC with additional coverage on NBC from 1-3 p.m. ET on Sunday, May 17.

The remaining nine events of the 2020 season will air on NBCSN, beginning with the season-opening Firestone Grand Prix of St. Petersburg on Sunday, March 15. and the NBC Sports app also will stream all races during the 2020 IndyCar season.

NBC Sports Gold’s INDYCAR PASS will provide more than 200 hours of programming in 2020, including more than 50 hours surrounding the Indianapolis 500. The pass (which is available for $54.99 annually) offers live coverage of all IndyCar practice and qualifying sessions plus live coverage of Indy Lights races and full replays of all NTT IndyCar Series races. Click here for more information on NBC Sports Gold’s INDYCAR PASS.

Below is NBC Sports’ IndyCar 2020 schedule:

DateRace/TrackNetworkTime (ET)
Sun, March 15 Firestone Grand Prix of St. Petersburg NBCSN 2:30 p.m.
Sun., April 5 Honda Grand Prix of Alabama NBCSN 4 p.m.
Sun., April 19 Acura Grand Prix of Long Beach NBCSN 4 p.m.
Sun., April 26 AutoNation INDYCAR Challenge at Circuit of The Americas NBCSN 3:30 p.m.
Sat., May 9 GMR Grand Prix at Indianapolis Motor Speedway NBC 3 p.m.
Sun., May 24 The 104th Indianapolis 500 Presented by Gainbridge NBC 11 a.m.
Sat., May 30 Chevrolet Dual in Detroit – Race 1 NBC 3 p.m.
Sun., May 31 Chevrolet Dual in Detroit – Race 2 NBC 3 p.m.
Sat., June 6 Texas Indy 600 NBCSN 8 p.m.
Sun., June 21 REV Group Grand Prix at Road America NBC Noon
Sat., June 27 Indy Richmond 300 NBCSN 8 p.m.
Sun., July 12 Honda Indy Toronto NBCSN 3 p.m.
Sat., July 18 Iowa 300 NBCSN 8:30 p.m.
Sun., Aug. 16 Honda Indy 200 at Mid-Ohio NBC 12:30 p.m.
Sat., Aug. 22 Bommarito Automotive Group 500 NBCSN 8 p.m.
Sun., Sept. 6 Grand Prix of Portland NBC 3 p.m.
Sun., Sept. 20 Firestone Grand Prix of Monterey at Laguna Seca NBC 2:30 p.m.