Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

IndyCar results and points standings after Harvest GP Race No. 2 Saturday

Will Power wins from pole position as Team Penske teammate Josef Newgarden tightens the IndyCar Series title battle with Scott Dixon.

Pole-sitter Will Power led all 75 laps Saturday on the Indianapolis Motor Speedway road course, where Team Penske teammate Josef Newgarden narrowed the IndyCar championship race in the Harvest GP results.

Power’s victory was his fourth this season and the 39th of his career, tying the 39-year-old Australian with four-time Indianapolis 500 winner Al Unser for fifth on the all-time list of winners. Andretti Autosport drivers Colton Herta and Alexander Rossi rounded out the podium.

Newgarden finished fourth, chopping another eight points from Scott Dixon’s lead heading into the Oct. 25 season finale at St. Petersburg, Florida.

WHAT THEY SAID: Postrace posts and quotes from drivers

Pato O’Ward took fifth, followed by Jack Harvey, Graham Rahal, Dixon, Alex Palou and Simon Pagenaud.

After winning his 61st career pole position Saturday morning (six short of tying Mario Andretti’s record), Power became the winningest driver on the IMS road course with his fourth victory, which was the second wire-to-wire in his career (the first was in 2011 at Barber Motorsports Park).

Here are the IndyCar IMS results and points standings from Saturday in Race 2 of the Harvest GP:


--Click here for the box score from Saturday’s Harvest GP Race 2 at IMS

--Click here for the lap leader summary from the race


After 13 of a scheduled 14 races, Dixon’s lead has shrunk to 32 points (502-470) over Newgarden (who trailed by 72 points entering the Harvest GP doubleheader race weekend at the IMS road course).

Dixon has lost 85 points from his lead since he had a 117-point margin after his most recent victory Aug. 29 at World Wide Technology Raceway at Gateway.

Regardless of Newgaden’s finish, Dixon must finish eighth or better at St. Pete to clinch his sixth championship.

The rest of the top 10: Colton Herta 401, Will Power 388, Pato O’Ward 376, Graham Rahal 354, Takuma Sato 328, Simon Pagenaud 311, Alexander Rossi 305, Felix Rosenqvist 294.

Click here for the driver points chart from Saturday’s race at IMS.

NEXT: The NTT IndyCar Series will conclude the season Oct. 25 at St. Petersburg, Florida, at 2:30 p.m. ET on NBC.