Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

Peterhansel claims Dakar win; Price, Patronelli, de Rooy take classes

2016 Dakar Rally - Day Forteen

RIO CUARTO, ARGENTINA - JANUARY 16: Stephane Peterhansel (R) of France and Paul Jean Cottret (L) of France in the PEUGEOT 2008 DKR for TEAM PEUGEOT TOTAL SOUTH AFRICA celebrate winning the overall race as they arrive at the end of stage thirteen between Villa Carlos Paz and Rosario on day fourteen of the 2016 Dakar Rally on January 16, 2016 Rio Cuarto, Argentina. (Photo by Dean Mouhtaropoulos/Getty Images)

Getty Images

The 2016 Dakar Rally is in the books with a familar winning driver, Stephane Peterhansel, but not as familar a winning marque - Peugeot.

Peterhansel’s win is his 12th in the rally that runs through Bolivia and Argentina. But it’s the first win for Peugeot in 26 years, since 1990.

Nasser Al Attiyah and Giniel de Villiers completed the podium in cars. Sebastien Loeb ended the rally with another stage run, although issues earlier in the rally cost him a shot at winning on debut.

Toby Price’s win in the bikes category on his KTM generated a number of congratulatory tweets, including from his countryman and one of the FIA WEC World Champions, Mark Webber:

Gerard de Rooy took the trucks division, his second win.

The Patronelli brothers finished 1-2 in quads, with Marcos Patronelli taking the victory.

A full 63 percent of starters finished the grueling 13-stage, two-week rally.

Here’s videos from the final stage of the rally, as well as all past days linked below in case you missed any.

Stephane Peterhansel clinches 12th Dakar win, 6th in cars

The legend continues for Stephane Peterhansel who cruised to his 12th Dakar Rally win overall and his sixth in the cars division. He also has six wins on a bike.

Toby Price wins Dakar Rally bikes division in second attempt

Toby Price won a wild Dakar Rally in the bikes division during only his second participation. He also is the first Australian to win the event.

Patronelli brothers finish 1-2 in Dakar Rally quads division

Marcos Patronelli became the first to win the Dakar Rally quads division three times. This victory came on Argentinian home soil with his brother, Alejandro, coming in second.

Gerard de Rooy gets second Dakar win in trucks division

Gerard de Rooy gets his second Dakar Rally win in the trucks division thanks in large part to never finishing any stage lower than 10th.

Saturday, January 17
Friday, January 16
Thursday, January 15
Wednesday, January 14
Monday, January 12
Sunday, January 11
Saturday, January 9
Friday, January 8
Thursday, January 7
Wednesday, January 6
Tuesday, January 5
Monday, January 4

Follow @TonyDiZinno