Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

Priaulx, Lopez complete Race of Champions line-up

BTCC Media Day

CASTLE DONINGTON, ENGLAND - MARCH 24: Andy Priaulx of Team IHG Rewards Club in action at Donington Park on March 24, 2015 in Castle Donington, England. (Photo by Jamie McDonald/Getty Images)

Getty Images

Leading touring car drivers Andy Priaulx and Jose Maria Lopez have completed the line-up for next weekend’s Race of Champions in London.

The Race of Champions pits a number of drivers from an array of series up against each other in a multidiscipline challenge, and will take place at London’s former Olympic Stadium on November 20-21.

The likes of Sebastian Vettel, Daniel Ricciardo, Jorge Lorenzo and Tom Kristensen have already signed up for the event that will see them compete for both national and individual honors.

In a statement issued by the Race of Champions organizers on Friday, Priaulx and Lopez were confirmed as the final two drivers for the event, completing its line-up.

Priaulx is a three-time winner of the FIA World Touring Car Championship, and currently splits his focus between the British Touring Car Championship and endurance series such as ELMS and TUSCC.

“What a great way to end a busy season – joining all my fellow champions in a fun head-to-head battle,” Priaulx said. “Same cars, same track: it will be an epic challenge. I love this event. Fredrik Johnsson and his team put on a great show so I can’t wait to get there and catch up with everyone.”

Lopez has also found success in the WTCC, winning back-to-back titles in 2014 and 2015. However, he is perhaps better known in American racing circles for being one of the planned drivers for the failed US F1 Team that tried to join Formula 1 five years ago.

“This has been another great year for me and this invitation to the Race Of Champions is the perfect way to cap it off,” Lopez said. “This year the pressure was on and the competition with my team-mates was harder than ever so to to win the championship three races early was an amazing result.

“Now I can look forward to racing my fellow champions next week in London. The line-up is amazing with great drivers from all over the world so we now look forward to putting on a great show for the crowds.”

Here is the full driver line-up for the 2015 Race of Champions:

  • Sebastian Vettel, four-time Formula 1 World Champion (Team Germany)
  • Nico Hulkenberg, 2015 Le Mans 24 Hours winner (Team Germany)
  • Tom Kristensen, nine-time Le Mans 24 Hours winner (Team Nordic)
  • Petter Solberg, reigning FIA World Rallycross Champion (Team Nordic)
  • Daniel Ricciardo, three-time Formula 1 grand prix winner (Team Australia)
  • Mick Doohan, five-time 500cc MotoGP World Champion (Team Australia)
  • Felipe Massa, 11-time Formula 1 grand prix winner (Team Brazil)
  • Nelson Piquet Jr, reigning FIA Formula E Champion (Team Brazil)
  • David Coulthard, reigning ROC Champion of Champions (Team Scotland)
  • Susie Wolff, Williams Martini Racing Official Test Driver (Team Scotland)
  • Jorge Lorenzo, double MotoGP World Champion (Team All Stars)
  • Romain Grosjean, 2012 ROC Champion of Champions (Team All Stars)
  • Jolyon Palmer, 2014 GP2 Champion (Team Young Stars)
  • Pascal Wehrlein, 2015 DTM Champion (Team Young Stars)
  • Ryan Hunter-Reay, 2014 Indianapolis 500 Winner (Team Americas)
  • José Maria Lopez, double World Touring Car Champion (Team Americas)
  • Jason Plato, double British Touring Car Champion (Team England 1)
  • Andy Priaulx, triple World Touring Car Champion (Team England 1)
  • Alex Buncombe, 2015 Blancpain Endurance Series Champion (Team England 2)
  • Jenson Button, 2009 Formula 1 World Champion (Team England 2)

Follow @LukeSmithF1