Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

Daytona Truck results: Zane Smith wins in overtime

The Chevrolets were dominant during qualifying and the Fords were dominant in the Duels. Marty Snider and Jeff Burton have no idea who the favorite is for the Daytona 500, as the only thing that's certain is the unknown.

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. - Zane Smith, who has finished runner-up for the Camping World Truck Series championship each of the past two seasons, won Friday night’s Truck race in overtime at Daytona International Speedway.

It is Smith’s fourth career series win.

“This is going to be a really fun year,” the 22-year-old Smith said on FS1.

RACE RESULTS: Daytona Truck results

POINTS: Driver points after Daytona

Reigning series champion Ben Rhodes finished second and was followed by Christian Eckes, Tanner Gray, and Parker Kligerman.

The race went to overtime after an 18-truck crash just before the field reached the start/finish line to begin the last lap. Had a truck done so, the race would have been over. Instead, it went to overtime.

Smith took the lead after the restart when he got a push from Kligerman. Smith said that he “definitely” would get Kligerman a gift for helping him win.

NASCAR Camping World Truck Series NextEra Energy 250

DAYTONA BEACH, FLORIDA - FEBRUARY 18: Derek Kraus, driver of the #19 Shockwave Chevrolet, John Hunter Nemechek, driver of the #4 Pye-Barker Fire & Safety Toyota, and Tyler Ankrum, driver of the #16 LiUNA! Toyota, spin into the infield grass after an on-track incident as Parker Kligerman, driver of the #75 Food Country USA Chevrolet, drives away during the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series NextEra Energy 250 at Daytona International Speedway on February 18, 2022 in Daytona Beach, Florida. (Photo by Sean Gardner/Getty Images)

Getty Images