Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

Front Row Motorsports’ No. 38 team loses penalty appeal

Chase Briscoe survives two late restarts to win his first NASCAR Cup Series race at Phoenix Raceway, becoming the 200th winner in Cup Series history.

The No. 38 team of Front Row Motorsports saw its penalty upheld Wednesday by the National Motorsports Appeals Panel.

The team’s No. 38 car, driven by Todd Gilliland, lost a wheel in competition at Auto Club Speedway on Feb. 27, which is a violation of section of the NASCAR rule book.

The three-member panel, consisting of Hunter Nickell, Bill Mullis and Kevin Whitaker, determined to uphold the initial penalty levied by NASCAR. As a result, crew chief Seth Barbour, front tire changer Tanner Andrews and jackman Jourdan Osinskie are suspended for each of the next four races and will be eligible to return on April 17 for the Bristol Motor Speedway dirt race.

All three crew members were able to participate during the appeals process. Gilliland, a NASCAR Cup Series rookie, sits 28th in points and earned a career-best 19th-place finish Sunday at Phoenix.

Front Row Motorsports announced Thursday it will not appeal the penalty further.
“Front Row Motorsports respects and accepts the decision by the National Motorsports Appeals Panel regarding the penalty to our No. 38 Ford Mustang at the Auto Club Speedway,” the team said in a statement. “The team will move forward this weekend with Troy Raker, team engineer, serving as crew chief for the next four events. The team will also make the required changes to its pit crew members.”

The appeals panel also upheld the same penalty issued to Kaulig Racing’s No. 31 team on Wednesday afternoon.

Spire Motorsports incurred a penalty for the same violation this week following Sunday’s race at Phoenix Raceway after the right-front wheel of Corey LaJoie’s No. 7 car came detached and sent LaJoie into the wall. The team has not yet determined whether it will appeal the penalty.