Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

Kyle Larson has narrow lead over Martin Truex Jr. on playoff grid following Kentucky

Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series AAA 400 Drive for Autism

DOVER, DE - JUNE 04: Kyle Larson, driver of the #42 Target Chevrolet, leads Martin Truex Jr., driver of the #78 Furniture Row/Denver Mattress Toyota, during the Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series AAA 400 Drive for Autism at Dover International Speedway on June 4, 2017 in Dover, Delaware. (Photo by Matt Hazlett/Getty Images)

Getty Images

With eight races left in the regular season, there are still only 10 drivers qualified for the NASCAR Cup Series playoffs based on wins.

Only 16 teams qualify for the playoffs.

The last two races at Daytona and Kentucky were won by repeat winners, Ricky Stenhouse Jr. and Martin Truex Jr.

The last new driver to qualify was Kevin Harvick for his win at Sonoma Raceway. Joey Logano has a win at Richmond, but it was encumbered due to his No. 22 Ford failing post-race inspection.

Kyle Busch is third on the grid and leads all drivers who are winless at this point.

If the regular season ended today, Erik Jones, Daniel Suarez, Trevor Bayne and Dale Earnhardt Jr. would be the first four drivers out of the playoffs based on points.

Though Kyle Larson has a one-point lead over Truex on the playoff grid, Truex leads all drivers with 28 playoff points after his Kentucky win. Jimmie Johnson is next with 16.

Below is the full playoff grid through 18 races this season.

playoff grid

Follow @DanielMcFadin and on Facebook