Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

Race for final NASCAR Cup playoff spots comes down to Daytona

Rick Allen and Steve Letarte review the action at Watkins Glen, where weather made things interesting early, several international drivers made their Cup Series debuts, and there were some fireworks between teammates.

It comes down to one race for one playoff position in the NASCAR Cup Series.

Ryan Blaney and Martin Truex Jr. hold the final two playoff spots heading into Saturday’s regular season finale at Daytona International Speedway (7 p.m. ET on NBC and Peacock). But 13 drivers could knock either one out by winning that race.

Of those 13 drivers, seven have won a Cup race at Daytona: Erik Jones, Aric Almirola, Austin Dillon, Justin Haley, Michael McDowell, Ricky Stenhouse Jr. and Brad Keselowski.

Of the six remaining playoff-eligible drivers who have not won at Daytona, Bubba Wallace has finished second there and Chris Buescher’s best finish is third. Others who could make the playoffs with a win Saturday night are Cole Custer, Harrison Burton, Ty Dillon and Todd Gilliland.

Screen Shot 2022-08-25 at 1.15.21 PM

Xfinity Series

Four races remain in the Xfinity regular season. The series races Friday at Daytona (7 p.m. ET on USA). Ryan Sieg leads Sheldon Creed by 39 points for the final playoff spot. Creed gained 13 points on Sieg last weekend at Watkins Glen.

Screen Shot 2022-08-22 at 9.17.24 AM