Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

Richard Petty to be honored by International Motor Racing Research Center

FedEx 400 Benefiting Autism Speaks - Practice

FedEx 400 Benefiting Autism Speaks - Practice

NASCAR via Getty Images

Seven-time NASCAR champion Richard Petty will be presented the Cameron R. Argetsinger Award by the International Motor Racing Research Center, located in Watkins Glen, N.Y.

Petty, the former driver and owner of Richard Petty Motorsports, is the second recipient of the award, which recognizes individuals for their “outstanding contributions to motorsports.”

Petty will be presented the award on August 6 at the Corning Museum of Glass in nearby Corning, N.Y.

Last year’s inaugural award winner was NASCAR and IndyCar team owner Chip Ganassi.

The award’s namesake, Cameron R. Argetsinger, conceived, organized, and drove in the first post-World War II road race in America, which was held in 1948 at Watkins Glen.

Argetsinger also served as the organizer and race director of the Formula One races at Watkins Glen for 20 years.

Follow @DanielMcFadin