Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

Sunday Martinsville Cup race: Start time, TV info, weather

Kyle Petty credits Ross Chastain for learning a lot during the early portion of the season and believes he's a better driver in the playoffs as a result, and Jeff Burton sees him continuing to maximize his opportunities.

Sunday’s 500-lap marathon at Martinsville Speedway will set the four-driver field for the Nov. 6 race for the NASCAR Cup Series championship at Phoenix Raceway.

Joey Logano enters Sunday’s race (2 p.m. ET, NBC) as the only driver locked into the Championship Four for Phoenix. He earned the spot by winning at Las Vegas Motor Speedway.

If any of the remaining seven playoff drivers wins Sunday’s race, they will get an automatic berth in the final four. The other positions will be filled via points. If no playoff driver wins Sunday, the other three spots will be determined by points.

Details for Sunday’s Cup race at Martinsville Speedway

(All times Eastern)

START: An Xfinity Rewards customer will give the command at 1:59 p.m. … Green flag is scheduled to wave at 2:08 p.m.

PRERACE: Cup garage opens at 11 a.m. … Driver introductions are at 1:35 p.m. … Motor Racing Outreach chaplain Nick Terry will give the invocation at 1:51 p.m. … The Regimental Band of the Virginia Tech Corps of Cadets will perform the national anthem at 1:52 p.m.

DISTANCE: The race is 500 laps (263 miles) on the .526-mile speedway.

STAGES: Stage 1 ends at Lap 130. Stage 2 ends at Lap 260.

STARTING LINEUP: Martinsville Cup starting lineup

TV/RADIO: NBC will broadcast the race at 2 p.m. … Countdown to Green airs at 1:30 p.m. … Motor Racing Network coverage begins at 1 p.m. and also will stream at … SiriusXM NASCAR Radio will carry the MRN broadcast.

FORECAST: Weather Underground — Cloudy with a high of 60. 8% chance of rain.

LAST TIME: Alex Bowman won this race last year. He led nine laps. Kyle Busch was second and Brad Keselowski third.


Bubba Wallace says he’s learned his lesson

Parker Kligerman to run full Xfinity schedule in 2023

Austin Hill to run select Cup races in 2023

Keith Rodden to crew chief for Austin Dillon in 2023

Alex Bowman to return to No. 48 for Phoenix race

Friday 5: Jordan Anderson recounts fiery Talladega crash

Dr. Diandra: Can the Cup Series reach 20 different winners?