Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

Trevor Bayne wins pole for Xfinity race at Phoenix

NASCAR Xfinity Series United Rentals 200 - Practice

AVONDALE, ARIZONA - MARCH 12: Trevor Bayne, driver of the #18 Devotion Nutrition Toyota, looks on during practice for the NASCAR Xfinity Series United Rentals 200 at Phoenix Raceway on March 12, 2022 in Avondale, Arizona. (Photo by Sean Gardner/Getty Images)

Getty Images

AVONDALE, Ariz. — Trevor Bayne won his first NASCAR Xfinity pole since 2014 and will start first for Saturday’s race at Phoenix Raceway.

Bayne, who is driving in select Xfinity races for Joe Gibbs Racing this season, won the pole with a lap of 131.839 mph.

Bayne’s last pole came Aug. 2, 2014 at Iowa Speedway.

Noah Gragson starts second after a lap of 131.565 mph. He is followed by Ty Gibbs (131.258 mph), Ryan Sieg (134.143) and Brandon Jones (131.000). Eighteen-year-old Parker Retzlaff, who is making his first start, qualified sixth at 130.288 mph.

Phoenix Xfinity qualifying results

Phoenix Xfinity starting lineup

Kyle Weatherman qualified 10th, marking his second career top-10 start. Nick Sanchez qualified 28th in his Xfinity debut.

Those who failed to qualify were: Jesse Little, Loris Hezemans, Stan Mullis and Brennan Poole.