Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

Xfinity Dash 4 Cash program begins this weekend at Phoenix Raceway

NASCAR XFINITY Series Lilly Diabetes 250

INDIANAPOLIS, IN - JULY 23: Justin Allgaier, driver of the #7 BRANDT Chevrolet, celebrates after winning the Dash for Cash at the NASCAR XFINITY Series Lilly Diabetes 250 at Indianapolis Motor Speedway on July 23, 2016 in Indianapolis, Indiana. (Photo by Brian Lawdermilk/Getty Images)

Getty Images

The Xfinity Series Dash 4 Cash program is going to look different again this year as the four-race challenge begins this weekend in the DC Solar 200 at Phoenix Raceway.

Phoenix is new to the four-race schedule, replacing Indianapolis Motor Speedway. After Phoenix, the Dash 4 Cash continues at Bristol Motor Speedway (April 22), Richmond International Raceway (April 29) and concludes at Dover International Speedway (June 2).

Gone is the heat race format from last season that helped determine the Xfinity Series regulars that would be eligible for the prize money. It is replaced by the stage race format that is present in all three of NASCAR’s national series.

Here is the rundown of how the Dash 4 Cash will run this season:

  • Full-time Xfinity Series drivers who have declared for points in the series will compete for four positions in Dash 4 Cash events, each awarding the winner $100,000. Cup drivers who have more than five full-time seasons of experience in NASCAR’s top series and scores points in that series is not eligible to enter Xfinity Dash 4 Cash events.
  • The top two eligible drivers in each of the first two stages will qualify for the Dash 4 Cash bonus round in the Final Stage (four total drivers).
  • The highest finisher among these four drivers wins the $100,000 prize and is one step closer to qualifying for the Xfinity Series playoffs.
  • Two Dash 4 Cash wins equal a race win in terms of eligibility for the playoffs.
  • This year, should one driver capture all four Dash 4 Cash awards, Xfinity will award the winner with an additional $600,000, bringing the total payout to $1 million. Drivers no longer need to win the final race outright to capture the bonus.

Follow @DanielMcFadin and on Facebook