Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

Michael Strahan leads seven-member Hall of Fame class

Super Bowl XLVIII FOX Sports Media Availabilty

NEW YORK, NY - JANUARY 28: Michael Strahan, Former NFL player and co-host of “LIVE with Kelly and Michael”, answers questions from the press during the FOX Sports media availablility in the Empire East Ballroom, at Super Bowl XLVIII Media Center at the Sheraton New York Times Square on January 28, 2014 in New York, New York. (Photo by Maddie Meyer/Getty Images)

Maddie Meyer

New York got to celebrate one of its own at Radio City Music Hall, as Giants defensive end Michael Strahan led a seven-member class into the Pro Football Hall of Fame Saturday.

First-ballot eligible Seahawks tackle Walter Jones and Buccaneers linebacker Derrick Brooks joined Strahan among the modern era finalists, along with Cardinals and Rams cornerback Aeneas Williams and Bills wide receiver Andre Reed.

The two seniors committee candidates, Raiders punter Ray Guy and Falcons and Eagles defensive end Claude Humphrey were also elected, meaning all seven gained at least 80 percent of the vote from the 46-member committee.

Those seven players emerged from a grueling nine-plus-hour meeting, which whittled a field of 15 modern finalists in stages.

The first five finalists eliminated in the cut from 15 to 10 were 49ers owner Eddie DeBartolo, kicker Morten Andersen, wide receiver Tim Brown, coach Tony Dungy and safety John Lynch.

The finalists who made the final 10 but were cut before the final five included linebacker Kevin Greene, defensive end Charles Haley, running back Jerome Bettis, guard Will Shields and wide receiver Marvin Harrison.

They will go back into the pool next year, along with a strong group of first-time eligible candidates, which include linebacker Junior Seau, quarterback Kurt Warner, wide receivers Torry Holt and Isaac Bruce, tackle Orlando Pace and running back Edgerrin James.