Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

Ten years ago Friday, the Patriots went back-to-back

Super Bowl XXXIX

Super Bowl XXXIX

Getty Images

Ten years.

Yes, it has officially been 10 years since we’ve had a club win back-to-back Super Bowls.

The last team to do it was the Patriots, who held off Philadelphia 24-21 to win Super Bowl XXXIX in Jacksonville on February 6, 2005. This followed New England’s thrilling 32-29 victory over Carolina in Super Bowl XXXVIII in Houston on February 1, 2004.

Since then, only the Seahawks have made back-to-back Super Bowls, and they were denied in their quest for repeat NFL titles by the Patriots in Super Bowl XLIX on Sunday.

In their Super Bowl XXXIX victory, the Patriots got a huge game from receiver Deion Branch, whose 11-catch, 133-yard performance earned him MVP honors. Quarterback Tom Brady was sharp, completing 23-of-33 passes for 236 yards and a pair of scores.

Playing on a broken leg, Eagles wide receiver Terrell Owens turned in perhaps the signature performance of his career, hauling in nine passes for 122 yards. But four turnovers hurt Philadelphia, including three interceptions from quarterback Donovan McNabb. And the Eagles will long be panned for their slow-moving final scoring drive, one that ended in a touchdown but took 3:52 of regulation for 13 plays.

Aside from the Patriots, the only other repeat Super Bowl winners were the Packers (Super Bowls I and II), Dolphins (Super Bowls VII and VIII), Steelers (Super Bowls IX and X; Super Bowls XIII and XIV), 49ers (Super Bowls XXIII and XIV), Cowboys (Super Bowls XXVII and XXVIII) and Broncos (Super Bowls XXXII and XXXIII).