Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

Angela Ruggiero to become fourth women’s player in Hockey Hall of Fame

Angela Ruggiero



Four-time U.S. Olympic medalist Angela Ruggiero will be the fourth female player inducted into the Hockey Hall of Fame.

Ruggiero is part of the 2015 class (to be inducted Nov. 9) with Olympic medalists Nicklas Lidstrom (Sweden), Sergei Fedorov (Russia), Chris Pronger (Canada) and Phil Housley (U.S.).

Women’s players were first inducted into the Hockey Hall of Fame in 2010, beginning with Cammi Granato, who captained the first U.S. Olympic women’s hockey team to gold at Nagano 1998, and Canadian trailblazer Angela James.

Another Canadian, two-time Olympic medalist Geraldine Heaney, was inducted in 2013.

Ruggiero, now an International Olympic Committee member, was the only member of the 1998 U.S. Olympic women’s hockey team born in the 1980s. The defenseman also won medals in 2002 (silver), 2006 (bronze) and 2010 (silver) before retiring.

She’s one of five American hockey players to compete in four Olympics, joined by Jenny Potter, Julie Chu and Chris Chelios and Keith Tkachuk.

Ruggiero was also a player in EA Sports’ NHL ’13 video game, along with perhaps the greatest female player of all time, five-time Canadian Olympic forward Hayley Wickenheiser, who is still active at age 36 and will surely be inducted into the Hall after her retirement.

U.S. grouped with Russia in 2018 Winter Olympic men’s hockey tournament

Follow @nzaccardi