Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

Sidney Crosby, Caroline Ouellette named Canada Olympic hockey captains

Sidney Crosby

during the ice hockey men’s gold medal game between USA and Canada on day 17 of the Vancouver 2010 Winter Olympics at Canada Hockey Place on February 28, 2010 in Vancouver, Canada.

Harry How

Add one more honor to Sidney Crosby‘s résumé.

Crosby was named Canada’s Olympic hockey team captain Sunday, succeeding the retired Scott Niedermayer. The women’s Olympic captain is also new -- four-time Olympian Caroline Ouellette.

Crosby could also carry the Canadian flag at the Opening Ceremony, despite the NHL season not taking its break until Feb. 9, two days after the Opening Ceremony.

Crosby was an alternate captain in 2010 and will hope to lead Canada to the first successful defense of an Olympic men’s hockey title since the Soviet Union era. Shea Weber and Jonathan Toews are the alternates in Sochi.

Ouellette was an alternate captain to six-time Olympian Hayley Wickenheiser at the 2010 Olympics. They have both been part of Canada’s gold-medal winning teams at the 2002, 2006 and 2010 Olympics. Wickenheiser will be an alternate captain in Sochi.

Russia names Olympic hockey team captain

Follow @nzaccardi