Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

Triple Crown schedule 2022: Dates, order for Kentucky Derby, Preakness Stakes, Belmont horse races

Triple Crown 2022

The race for the 2022 Triple Crown continues with the 147th Preakness Stakes on May 21st. It will be hosted at the Pimlico Race Course in Baltimore, Md.

On May 7 at the 148th Kentucky Derby, Rich Strike set off as a massive 80-1 underdog and started near the back of the field. The three-year-old colt took advantage of the fast race pace and blasted off to the front of the pack at the end of the final stretch to win cross the wire first.

Related: When is the 2022 Preakness

On June 11th, the 154th Belmont Stakes will cap the 2022 Triple Crown schedule. The last leg of the Triple Crown will be held at Belmont Park in Elmont, NY.

Who was the last Triple Crown winner?

The most recent Triple Crown winner was Justify, trained by Baffert and ridden by Hall of Fame jockey Mike Smith, in 2018. His win came just three years after another Baffert horse, American Pharoah, won the Triple Crown.

What are the three races of the Triple Crown?

Triple Crown 2022 order:

  1. Kentucky Derby (May 7). Winner: Rich Strike
  2. Preakness Stakes (May 21)
  3. Belmont Stakes (June 11)

Length of Triple Crown races, distances:

  1. Kentucky Derby - 1 1/4 miles (10 furlongs)
  2. Preakness Stakes - 1 3/16 miles (9.5 furlongs)
  3. Belmont Stakes - 1 1/2 miles (12 furlongs)

List of Triple Crown winners:

  • Sir Barton (1919)
  • Gallant Fox (1930)
  • Omaha (1935)
  • War Admiral (1937)
  • Whirlaway (1941)
  • Count Fleet (1943)
  • Assault (1946)
  • Citation (1948)
  • Secretariat (1973)
  • Seattle Slew (1977)
  • Affirmed (1978)
  • American Pharoah (2015)
  • Justify (2018)

Watch the 147th running of the Preakness Stakes on Saturday, May 21 on NBC,, the NBC Sports app and Peacock.