Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up
View All Scores

Super Bowl LVI MVP Odds and Stats: Burrow, Stafford, Miller, More

Joe Burrow

Joe Burrow

Kareem Elgazzar/The Enquirer

Editor’s Note: The NFL playoffs are here & NBC Sports EDGE Plus is giving you a special offer. Get 15% off an EDGE Plus annual subscription throughout the playoffs when you use promo code PLAYOFF15. Get every tool for every game at one low price. It’s easier than ever to play & wager with confidence when you have NBC Sports EDGE Plus. Click here to learn more!

Super Bowl LVI MVP Odds on PointsBet

Here are the top 12 players in terms of Super Bowl LVI MVP Odds on PointsBet.

Super Bowl LVI Odds

Super Bowl LVI Odds

I agree with the market setting the top three as Matthew Stafford (+125), Joe Burrow (+220) and Cooper Kupp (+425).

The quarterback position has won Super Bowl MVP nine of the last 12 times (75%) dating back to 2010. Since 2000, 15 quarterbacks have won out of 22 times (68.2%). If you are betting on MVP, the quarterback position is the obvious choice.

Whatever team wins, that quarterback will likely be the winner. There has only been one time in NFL history that the losing team had the Super Bowl MVP winner and that was in 1971.

The Cowboys Chuck Howley won MVP after a loss to the Baltimore Colts. Howley had two interceptions and a fumble recovery in Super Bowl V. They did not keep tackles or sacks stats back then and I am too young to tell you anymore.

The wide receiver position won Super Bowl MVP four times since 2006: Deion Branch, Hines Ward, Santonio Holmes and Julian Edelman. Before 2006, Jerry Rice in 1989 was the last one, so it’s happened more often lately, but not that often.

Kupp (+425), Odell Beckham (+1800) and Ja’Marr Chase (+1800) make for the best wide outs for MVP to target in this matchup. Tee Higgins (+3300) snuck into the conversation after his AFC Championship performance against the Chiefs.

The running back position has seven Super Bowl MVP winners since 1967. The last one to win was Terrell Davis in 1998 with Denver -- 23 Super Bowls have passed since then. Cam Akers (+3300) opens slightly higher than Joe Mixon (+4000) but neither player are great bets in a game that features plenty of pass-catchers and two likely 300-yard passers.

Ray Lewis, Dexter Jackson, Malcolm Smith and Von Miller are the only four defensive players to win MVP in the last 25 years. Only one cornerback has won (Larry Brown, 1996) and two safeties with Dexter Jackson being the latest (2003) and only since 1973.

The top defender on the board in terms of odds and talent is Aaron Donald (+1800) with Von Miller (+3300), Jalen Ramsey (+4000) and Trey Hendrickson (+8000) trailing. Miller won Super Bowl 50 MVP with Denver in 2016 but we will get to that later.

Desmond Howard is the only special teams player (KR/PR) to win the award (1997). I can’t help you with this one.

No kicker has ever won the award, but if you truly like Evan McPherson aka Shooter McPherson aka Money Mac -- well, his odds are +10000 after opening at +15000, so people clearly are taking some singles to the window on him to be the first-ever. Matt Gay (+10000) opens as the same odds but we know who the better kicker is.

No tight end as ever won the award. However, the Rams Kendall Blanton (+3300) is a hot ticket with the same odds as Higgins, Ramsey and Akers after taking over for Tyler Higbee (+5000) after injury.

This game could and will likely feature two back up tight ends as the Bengals C.J. Uzomah (+6600) went down in the previous game, making Drew Sample (+8000) his replacement.

Your best bet is riding with Stafford or Burrow for MVP, basically whichever team you think will win. The Rams are -4 favorites against the Bengals in their home stadium.

If you want to take some final shots at the sport books during the conclusion of the NFL season, throw some lunch money on Kupp or Chase for MVP, plus your favorite defensive player as a longer shot. I don’t hate Odell either.

My favorite long shot and defensive player to bet on for MVP is Miller. Not because we have the same first name (spelled different) but Miller could become the only player in NFL history to win the Super Bowl MVP twice as a defensive player. That would cap his Hall of Fame career off right there -- if he wants to retire.

Here are some more of the odds for Super Bowl MVP. Check out the rest at PointsBet.

Super Bowl MVP list 2

Super Bowl MVP list 2

PointsBet is our Official Sports Betting Partner and we may receive compensation if you place a bet on PointsBet for the first time after clicking our links. NJ, IA, IN, IL, CO, MI, VA, WV only. 21+. T&C apply. Gambling Problem? Call 1-800-GAMBLER.