Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

Bracketology: It’s Moving Day for March Madness

Tyler Adams, Aaron Bowen

Georgetown center Tyler Adams, left, and forward Aaron Bowen (23) sit on the bench after Bowen fouled out, during the second half of an NCAA college basketball game against Villanova, Monday, Jan. 27, 2014, in Washington. Villanova won 65-60. (AP Photo/Alex Brandon)


If you’ve ever watched The Masters golf tournament in early April, they refer to Saturday as Moving Day. It’s the day when golfers position themselves for a run at the Green Jacket.

In the world of college hoops, today and tomorrow are like Moving Day at selection headquarters. Teams on the proverbial NCAA tournament bubble will be trying to position themselves for a spot in the Field of 68. With as many as 13 spots still in question - to varying degrees - much could be decided between now and Saturday morning. It’s why hoop-heads love Championship Week almost as much as the tournament itself.

Quick notes about today’s (March 13) bracket update:

American joins the Field as the automatic qualifier from the Patriot League. Meanwhile, the Georgetown Hoyas’ hopes of an at-large berth received a serious jolt after an opening round loss to DePaul Wednesday night in Madison Square Garden. The Hoyas were among the First Five OUT yesterday and are further down the seed list today.

Inside the bracket, there were no other changes. Stanford survived against Washington State. Oregon, Baylor, and Oklahoma State all won opening round games in their league tournaments.

If you’re ready for Moving Day, the wait is over.

UPDATED: March 13, 2014 | 6:30 a.m. ET

Teams in CAPS represent the AUTOMATIC qualifier from their conference. Exceptions are made for teams that use an abbreviation (UCLA, BYU, etc).

Several new bracketing principles were introduced after last year’s tournament. You can read them for yourself at For example: teams from the same conference may now meet before a Regional final, even if fewer than eight teams are selected. The goal is to keep as many teams as possible on their actual seed line.

FIRST FOUR PAIRINGS - Dayton (First Round)

  • Nebraska vs. Tennessee | Midwest Region
  • Xavier vs. BYU | South Region
  • Texas Southern vs. Weber State | Midwest Region
  • MT ST. MARY’S vs. COASTAL CAROLINA | East Region


SOUTH - MemphisWEST - Anaheim
OrlandoSan Diego
1) Florida1) Arizona
16) WOFFORD16) Utah Valley
8) Kansas State8) George Washington
9) Arizona State9) GONZAGA
SpokaneSan Diego
5) Ohio State5) Oklahoma
12) BYU / Xavier12) Toledo
4) Louisville4) Michigan State
13) S.F. Austin13) NORTH DAKOTA ST
BuffaloSan Antonio
6) New Mexico6) Baylor
11) Dayton11) Stanford
3) Syracuse3) Creighton
14) MERCER14) UC-Irvine
7) VCU7) Memphis
10) SMU10) Saint Joseph’s
2) Wisconsin2) Virginia
15) AMERICAN15) Stony Brook
EAST - New YorkMIDWEST - Indianapolis
BuffaloSt. Louis
1) Villanova1) WICHITA STATE
16) CO CAROLINA / MT ST. MARY’S16) Weber State / Texas Southern
8) Oklahoma State8) Kentucky
9) Iowa9) Oregon
5) North Carolina5) Texas
12) Louisiana Tech12) HARVARD
4) San Diego State4) Duke
San AntonioRaleigh
6) Massachusetts6) Saint Louis
11) Arkansas11) Tennessee / Nebraska
3) Iowa State3) Cincinnati
14) EASTERN KENTUCKY14) Georgia State
MilwaukeeSt. Louis
7) Connecticut7) UCLA
10) Colorado10) Pittsburgh
2) Michigan2) Kansas
15) NC-Central15) MILWAUKEE

NOTES on the BRACKET: Florida remains the overall No. 1 seed followed by Arizona, Wichita State, and Villanova.

Last Five teams in (at large): Stanford, Nebraska, Xavier, Tennessee, BYU

First Five teams out (at large): California, Minnesota, Missouri, St. John’s, Providence

Next five teams out (at large): Southern Miss, Green Bay, Florida State, Georgetown, Illinois

Breakdown by Conference ...

Big 12 (7): Kansas, Iowa State, Kansas State, Oklahoma, Texas, Baylor, Oklahoma State

Pac 12 (6): Arizona, UCLA, Stanford, Arizona State, Oregon, Colorado

Atlantic 10 (6): Massachusetts, VCU, Saint Louis, George Washington, Saint Joseph’s, Dayton

Big Ten (6): Michigan State, Michigan, Ohio State, Iowa, Wisconsin, Nebraska

ACC (5): Duke, Virginia, Syracuse, North Carolina, Pittsburgh

American (5): Louisville, Memphis, Connecticut, Cincinnati, SMU

SEC (4): Kentucky, Florida, Arkansas, Tennessee

Big East (3): Creighton, Villanova, Xavier

Mountain West (2): New Mexico, San Diego State

West Coast (2): GONZAGA, Brigham Young

Missouri Valley (1): Wichita State

Conference Automatic Qualifiers ... Louisiana Tech (C-USA), EASTERN KENTUCKY (Ohio Valley), Georgia State (Sun Belt), AMERICAN (Patriot), NORTH DAKOTA STATE (Summit), MILWAUKEE (Horizon), WOFFORD (Southern), Utah Valley (WAC), MANHATTAN (MAAC), Stephen F. Austin (Southland), Toledo (MAC), MERCER (A-Sun), HARVARD (IVY), UC-Irvine (Big West), DELAWARE (Colonial), Stony Brook (American East), Weber State (Big Sky), NC-Central (MEAC), COASTAL CAROLINA (Big South), MOUNT ST. MARY’S (NEC), Texas Southern (SWAC)