Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

Kareem Abdul-Jabbar Award, nation’s top center, watch list announced on Monday

Jahlil Okafor, Frank Kaminsky

Jahlil Okafor, Frank Kaminsky (AP Photo)


On Monday morning, the watch list for the Kareem Abdul-Jabbar award for the best center in the country was announced.

The list is 15 players deep, but really doesn’t need to go much further than the top three. It’s more or less a consensus that the National Player of the Year will end up being either Frank Kaminsky or Jahlil Okafor, and while he probably isn’t quite a consensus first-team all-american right now, Willie Cauley-Stein is in the conversation as well.

Anyway, here is the Top 15:

Willie Cauley-Stein, Kentucky
Rakeem Christmas, Syracuse
Damian Jones, Vanderbilt
Frank Kaminsky, Wisconsin
Jarell Martin, LSU
Kennedy Meeks, North Carolina
Stefan Nastic, Stanford
Daniel Ochefu, Villanova
Jahlil Okafor, Duke
Jakob Poeltl, Utah
Bobby Portis, Arkansas
Josh Scott, Colorado
Joshua Smith, Georgetown
Brad Waldow, Saint Mary’s
Alan Williams, UCSB