Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

Justin Fields, Chuba Hubbard headline Maxwell Award preseason watch list

#WatchListSZN continues unabated, with the Maxwell Award next up on the preseason junket.

Friday morning, the Maxwell Award announced its preseason watch list consisting of 90 college football players from across the country. Presently annually to the Collegiate Player of the Year, the Maxwell Award is one of the oldest and most prestigious in the sport.

None of the three finalists from a year ago, LSU quarterback and 2019 winner Joe Burrow, Ohio State defensive end Chase Young and Oklahoma quarterback Jalen Hurts, are on this year’s watch list. Burrow and Young, incidentally, went 1-2 in the 2020 NFL Draft. There are, however, six semifinalists from a year ago.

  • Baylor quarterback Charlie Brewer
  • SMU quarterback Shane Buechele
  • Texas quarterback Sam Ehlinger
  • Clemson running back Travis Etienne
  • Ohio State quarterback Justin Fields
  • Oklahoma State running back Chuba Hubbard

The Big Ten leads all conferences with 15 watch listers, followed by the ACC (14) and SEC (13). The AAC and Mountain West, with nine apiece, have the most for Group of Five leagues. And the other Power Fives? The Pac-12 posted eight, the Big 12 seven.

Four individual schools, Alabama, Indiana, Louisville and Memphis, had three players apiece on the preseason watch list. Another 11 have two each: Auburn, Boise State, Clemson, Florida State, LSU, Minnesota, Mississippi State, Ohio State, Oregon, Penn State and SMU.

Below is the complete preseason watch list for the 2020 Maxwell Award.