Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

Andretti Autosport, Rahal Letterman Lanigan announce new sponsors

new indycar series logo for 2016

Andretti Autosport and Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing made sponsorship announcements on Wednesday.

Andretti Autosport announced the expansion of an existing partnership with U.S. based food corporation Butterball.

Butterball, which accounts for about 20 percent of turkey production in the U.S., will be a season-long sponsor on the No. 28 Honda of 2014 Indianapolis 500 winner Ryan Hunter-Reay, the team said in a media release.

This will mark the third consecutive season that Butterball has partnered with Andretti Autosport.

In addition, the No. 27 Honda of Marco Andretti will carry Butterball sponsorship for the 2016 Grand Prix of Indianapolis, as well as the 100th running of the legendary Indianapolis 500.

“We’re really pleased to welcome back Butterball for a third-consecutive season,” team owner Michael Andretti said in a media release. “The expanded partnership gives Butterball a place in history as we celebrate a significant season of Indy car racing. Not only are we proud to have Butterball on the cars – but we’re thrilled to have their quality turkey on our hospitality menu!”

As for Rahal Letterman Lanigan, it announced Fifth Third Bank has joined as an associate sponsor for the No. 15 Verizon IndyCar Series ride of Graham Rahal.

“I’m very pleased that we have entered into this partnership with Fifth Third Bank,” said Bobby Rahal, co-owner of Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing with former CBS Late Show host David Letterman and Mi-Jack co-owner Mike Lanigan. “Fifth Third Bank is a major force in the banking industry in the Midwest and is known as one of the top banking institutions in the industry.

“It’s only fitting to come together for these great races and especially the 100th Running of the Indianapolis 500.”

In addition to sponsoring the younger Rahal, Fifth Third Bank is planning additional specific initiatives for the season-opening race at St. Petersburg, Florida, as well as the Indianapolis 500, Detroit and Mid-Ohio.

Follow @JerryBonkowski