Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

IndyCar entry list for the 107th Indy 500 at IMS

Watch the best moments from Day 1 of practice for the 2023 Indianapolis 500 at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway, which saw Takuma Sato record the fastest lap speed on the day.

INDIANAPOLIS -- The official entry list for the 107th Indy 500 was released Monday with 34 teams attempting to make the field for the May 28 race at Indianapolis Motor Speedway.

Barring any withdrawals, at least one driver will be bumped from the 33-car field for the first time in two years during the last chance qualifying session May 21 (there were 33 entries for the 2022 race).

The Greatest Spectacle in Racing will include nine past winners, starting with defending winner Marcus Ericsson (whose 2022 victory is chronicled in the new documentary “Unleashing the Dragon”).

ENTRY LIST: Click here for the 34 teams attempting to make the 107th Indy 500

NBC SPORTS AT THE INDY 500: Full broadcast schedule for May

Other past winners in the field: Helio Castroneves (2001, 2002, 2009, 2021), Takuma Sato (2017, 2020), Scott Dixon (2008), Tony Kanaan (2013), Ryan Hunter-Reay (2014), Alexander Rossi (2016), Will Power (2018) and Simon Pagenaud (2019). The field likely will be one short of the record for past winners (10 in 1992).

If Ericsson becomes the first repeat winner since Castroneves in 2001-02, the Chip Ganassi Racing star would earn a bonus of $420,000 from BorgWarner, the namesake of the Indy 500 trophy.

INDY 500 INFO: Start times, schedules, TV, stats, historical details about the race

Other entrants of note:

--Tony Kanaan is expected to make his final IndyCar start, and if he wins the race for the second time, he would become the oldest winner at 48. Castroneves, who turned 48 last week, also would be the oldest if he becomes the first five-time winner of the Indy 500. (Al Unser won his fourth Indy 500 just five days shy of 48.)

--Katherine Legge will attempt to make her first Indy 500 since 2013. If she makes her third start at the Brickyard, she would become the first woman in the race since Simona de Silvestro in 2021.

--Four drivers from three countries are eligible for rookie of the year: Agustín Canapino, Benjamin Pedersen, Sting Ray Robb and RC Enerson.

Indy 500 practice will be held May 16-19, followed by qualifying May 20-21.

Here’s an entry breakdown provided in the release from Indianapolis Motor Speedway:

Winners (9): Helio Castroneves, Scott Dixon, Marcus Ericsson, Ryan Hunter-Reay, Tony Kanaan, Simon Pagenaud, Will Power, Alexander Rossi, Takuma Sato

Rookies (4): Agustín Canapino, RC Enerson, Benjamin Pedersen, Sting Ray Robb

U.S. drivers (13): Marco Andretti, Ed Carpenter, Conor Daly, RC Enerson, Santino Ferrucci, Colton Herta, Ryan Hunter-Reay, Kyle Kirkwood, David Malukas, Josef Newgarden, Graham Rahal, Sting Ray Robb, Alexander Rossi

International drivers (21, from 14 countries): Agustín Canapino, Helio Castroneves, Devlin DeFrancesco, Scott Dixon, Marcus Ericsson, Romain Grosjean, Jack Harvey, Callum Ilott, Tony Kanaan, Katherine Legge, Christian Lundgaard, Scott McLaughlin, Pato O’Ward, Simon Pagenaud, Alex Palou, Benjamin Pedersen, Will Power, Felix Rosenqvist, Takuma Sato, Rinus VeeKay, Stefan Wilson

Engines (34): Honda 17, Chevrolet 17 (all cars use Dallara chassis and Firestone tires)