Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

IndyCar results and points standings after Honda Indy 200 at Mid-Ohio

Josef Newgarden holds off Marcus Ericsson to win at Mid-Ohio and deliver Team Penske's first IndyCar Series win of the season.

Mid-Ohio results and points standings: Josef Newgarden snapped a nine-race winless string to open the 2021 NTT IndyCar Series season for Team Penske, winning from the pole position Sunday at Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course.

Newgarden led 73 of 80 laps around the 13-turn, 2.258-mile road course, including the final 23, and withstood a late charge by runner-up Marcus Ericsson, who came up 0.8790 seconds short.

Points leader Alex Palou finished third, followed by Chip Ganassi Racing teammate Scott Dixon. Alexander Rossi was fifth.

The 19th career victory for Newgarden occurred a day after Penske celebrated the 50th anniversary of its first checkered flag in IndyCar (with the late Mark Donohue in 1971 at Pocono Raceway). Newgarden had started from the pole in the past two races but had victories slip through his grasp at Detroit and Road America because of late caution flags.

“This team has been doing the job,” Newgarden said. “Everyone has been giving me a hard time, asking what’s up with us not winning a race. But I don’t think Team Penske could have done anything different. We’ve been in the game almost every race, had great performances. It’s great to seal a win here finally.”

Here are the IndyCar results and points standings Sunday in the Honda Indy 200 at Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course:


Click here for the box score from the Honda Indy 200 at Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course. Click here for the lap leader chart.

Here is the finishing order with starting position in parentheses, driver, engine, laps completed and reason out:

1. (1) Josef Newgarden, Chevrolet, 80, Running
2. (3) Marcus Ericsson, Honda, 80, Running
3. (7) Alex Palou, Honda, 80, Running
4. (5) Scott Dixon, Honda, 80, Running
5. (6) Alexander Rossi, Honda, 80, Running
6. (8) Graham Rahal, Honda, 80, Running
7. (18) Romain Grosjean, Honda, 80, Running
8. (20) Pato O’Ward, Chevrolet, 80, Running
9. (22) Santino Ferrucci, Honda, 80, Running
10. (19) Takuma Sato, Honda, 80, Running
11. (12) Sebastien Bourdais, Chevrolet, 80, Running
12. (14) Scott McLaughlin, Chevrolet, 80, Running
13. (2) Colton Herta, Honda, 80, Running
14. (15) Simon Pagenaud, Chevrolet, 80, Running
15. (24) Conor Daly, Chevrolet, 80, Running
16. (11) Rinus VeeKay, Chevrolet, 80, Running
17. (9) James Hinchcliffe, Honda, 80, Running
18. (17) Max Chilton, Chevrolet, 80, Running
19. (23) Jack Harvey, Honda, 80, Running
20. (26) Ryan Norman, Honda, 79, Running
21. (21) Dalton Kellett, Chevrolet, 79, Running
22. (25) Jimmie Johnson, Honda, 79, Running
23. (13) Felix Rosenqvist, Chevrolet, 78, Running
24. (10) Ryan Hunter-Reay, Honda, 78, Running
25. (4) Will Power, Chevrolet, 3, Contact
26. (16) Ed Jones, Honda, 3, Contact
Winner’s average speed: 108.405 mph; Time of race: 1:39:58.8551; Margin of victory: 0.8790 seconds; Cautions: 2 for 6 laps; Lead changes: 5 among 3 drivers; Lap Leaders: Newgarden 1-29; Herta 30-31; Newgarden 32-52; Ericsson 53-54; Herta 55-57; Newgarden 58-80.


Click here for the points tally in Sunday’s race.

Through 10 races, here are the full points standings for:



Engine manufacturers

Top 10 in the standings: Palou 384, O’Ward 345, Dixon 328, Newgarden 315, Ericsson 280, Pagenaud 271, Herta 260, VeeKay 257, Rahal 256, Sato 226

NEXT: The NTT IndyCar Series will race Sunday, Aug. 8 (5:30 p.m. ET, NBCSN) on the streets of Nashville, Tennessee, the 11th round of the 2021 season (click here for the full broadcast schedule this year).