Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

Pair of Sebring tests wrap IndyCar’s 2017 testing schedule


With 2017 winding to a close, a handful of Verizon IndyCar Series teams concluded their final tests of the year in the last stages of manufacturer testing.

While team testing does not begin until January, IndyCar teams have taken delivery of their aero kit components as preparations continue for the 2018 season.

Four teams recently completed their final test sessions within the past week, all of whom doing so at Sebring International Raceway.

First, it was Chevrolet and Team Penske taking to the track, with Will Power behind the wheel as Simon Pagenaud and Josef Newgarden looked on.

The next day, two other Chevy teams ventured onto the Sebring road course, with Ed Carpenter Racing and Spencer Pigot continuing their development work while Tony Kanaan got behind the wheel of his A.J. Foyt Racing No. 14 ABC Supply Chevrolet for the first time.

Further, Honda’s Schmidt Peterson Motorsports also took to the Sebring road course last week, with James Hinchcliffe and Robert Wickens turning laps, with Wickens completing his first official outing with the team.

Teams that have not been designated as teams for the manufacturer testing period, namely Andretti Autosport, Dale Coyne Racing and Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing, will now start at a several-day deficit for the season.

Both Marco Andretti and Sebastien Bourdais respectively took to Twitter to express their displeasure...

Follow @KyleMLavigne