Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

Jeff Gordon named recipient of fourth quarter Spirit Award

110915 gordon

One of the final honors Jeff Gordon has received as a NASCAR driver is the Spirit Award from the National Motorsports Press Association.

The NMPA voted Gordon the fourth quarter award winner nearly a month after his final Sprint Cup race.

The Spirit Award is intended to recognize individuals who show “character and achievement in the face of adversity, sportsmanship and contributions to motorsports.”

Gordon’s success during his 24 years in the Sprint Cup Series allowed him to establish the Jeff Gordon Children’s Hospital and Jeff Gordon Children’s Foundation in Concord, N.C..

Gordon first won the award in 2011 when it was given to one person each year.

The first three winners of the award in 2015 were reporter Holly Cain, the late Steve Byrnes and Justin Wilson.

Follow @DanielMcFadin