Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

Kevin Harvick wins ‘Best Driver’ at ESPY Awards

NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Coke Zero 400 - Practice

NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Coke Zero 400 - Practice

Getty Images

Kevin Harvick, the 2014 Sprint Cup champion, was acknowledged for his first-career championship Wednesday night by winning the “Best Driver” award at the 2015 ESPY Awards.

In a fan vote, Harvick beat out 2014 Verizon IndyCar champion Will Power, 2015 Indianapolis 500 winner Juan Pablo Montoya, 2014 Formula One champion Lewis Hamilton and 2014 NHRA Pro Stock champion Erica Enders-Stevens.

The Stewart-Haas Racing driver didn’t even know the award show took place last night.

Harvick is the first NASCAR champion to win the award since Tony Stewart in 2012. The last two awards had been won by IndyCar driver Ryan Hunter-Reay.

In his championship run, Harvick scored five wins, six runner-up finishes and 14 top-five finishes. Currently, Harvick is first in the championship standings with two wins and 12 top-five finishes. He can next be seen racing in Sunday’s 5 Hour Energy 301 at New Hampshire Motor Speedway, which airs on NBCSN.

Follow @DanielMcFadin