Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

Kyle Larson wins Dover pole

Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series AAA 400 - Practice

DOVER, DE - MAY 04: Kyle Larson, driver of the #42 DC Solar Chevrolet, drives during practice for the Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series AAA 400 at Dover International Speedway on May 4, 2018 in Dover, Delaware. (Photo by Jerry Markland/Getty Images)

Getty Images

Kyle Larson scored his first Cup pole of the season Friday at Dover International Speedway and the fifth of his career.

Larson led the way with a lap of 158.103 mph.

Kevin Harvick (157.494 mph) will start second and is followed by Martin Truex Jr. (157.432), Kyle Busch (157.226) and Ricky Stenhouse Jr (157.006).

This is Larson’s first pole since last June at Sonoma Raceway. This is Chevrolet’s first pole since the Daytona 500.

“Our team has been working really hard to make our cars better and better,” Larson said. “Each race we have gone to, they have been excited about the race cars that they have brought to the track because they have been steps in the right direction of you know more downforce. So, it’s cool to see it paying off with us getting a pole. Still a long weekend left but starting up front is a very important thing here.”

Jimmie Johnson, the defending winner of this event, failed to make the final round. He’ll start 19th. Joey Logano, who won last weekend at Talladega, qualified 18th. Trevor Bayne, who will have Matt Kenseth in his car next weekend at Kansas Speedway, qualified 22nd.

Kasey Kahne had the identical time as Ryan Newman in the first round but Newman got the final spot to advance because he is higher in points. Kahne will start 25th. Darrell Wallace Jr. qualified 26th, and Daytona 500 winner Austin Dillon will start 27th.

Click here for qualifying results

Follow @dustinlong and on Facebook