Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

Rick Hendrick, Joe Gibbs, Al Unser named to NMPA Hall of Fame

NMPA logo

Three of the biggest names in motorsports will make up the 2016 induction class for entry into the National Motorsports Press Association Hall of Fame.

NASCAR multi-championship team owners Rick Hendrick and Joe Gibbs, along with four-time Indianapolis 500 winner and three-time IndyCar champion driver Al Unser, were chosen in voting by NMPA members.

The trio will be inducted at the media organization’s annual convention on January 16, 2016, at the Embassy Suites hotel in Concord, North Carolina.

“I have such great respect for the people who cover our sport and the role they play in keeping our fans informed,” Hendrick said upon learning of his selection by NMPA members. “The NMPA has done so much to give back to the NASCAR community and highlight people’s contributions through programs like The Myers Brothers Award and Driver of the Year.

“It takes a lot of commitment and sacrifice to do what our media members do every week. To be recognized by that group of people is very humbling.”

Hendrick received 88 percent of votes cast by NMPA members, Gibbs received 76 percent and Unser received 66 percent.

Others receiving votes were four-time Indianapolis 500 winner and three-time IndyCar champ Rick Mears, as well as NASCAR Winston Cup championship-winning crew chief Kirk Shelmerdine.

The NMPA Hall of Fame is located on the grounds of Darlington Raceway and has been in operation since 1965. Hendrick, Gibbs and Unser become the 96th through 98th members of the Hall.

Follow @JerryBonkowski