Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

Sam Hornish Jr., AJ Allmendinger among four who will drive RCR’s No. 2 Xfinity car in five races

NASCAR Sprint Cup Series AAA Texas 500 - Qualifying

FORT WORTH, TX - NOVEMBER 06: Sam Hornish Jr., driver of the #9 Sonic Ford, walks on the grid during Service King qualifying for the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series AAA Texas 500 at Texas Motor Speedway on November 6, 2015 in Fort Worth, Texas. (Photo by Jerry Markland/Getty Images for Texas Motor Speedway)

Getty Images for Texas Motor Speedway

Richard Childress Racing announced Wednesday four drivers who will pilot its No. 2 Chevrolet in select Xfinity Series races in the place of Austin Dillon and Paul Menard.

Sam Hornish Jr., AJ Allmendinger, Ben Kennedy and Michael McDowell will split time in the car for five races.

Hornish, who hasn’t raced since the 2015 Sprint Cup finale at Homestead-Miami Speedway, will drive the No. 2 car for two races - the July 30 event at Iowa Speedway and at Kentucky Speedway on Sept. 24.

Hornish spent 2015 driving full-time for Richard Petty Motorsports in the Sprint Cup Series before being replaced by Brian Scott. The 2006 Indianapolis 500 winner has three Xfinity Series wins, the most recent coming at Iowa in 2014.

MORE: Sam Hornish Jr.'s Alaska adventure

Allmendinger, who drives for JTG-Daugherty Racing in the Sprint Cup Series, will step into the No. 2 for the Aug. 13 race at the Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course. That weekend is an off week for the Cup series.

Allmendinger has two Xfinity Series wins. Both came in 2014, including one at Mid-Ohio.

Kennedy, who drives full-time in the Camping World Truck Series, will make his Xfinity Series debut at Iowa Speedway on June 19. Kennedy has made three starts at Iowa in the Truck series and has one top-10 finish.

McDowell, who competes full-time in Sprint Cup for Circle Sport-Leavine Family Racing, will make his first start in Xfinity since 2014 at Road America on Aug. 27. McDowell will seek to defend the No. 2 team’s win at the Elkhart Lake, Wisconsin, road course in 2015 with Menard.

McDowell has 12 road course starts in the Xfinity Series, earning three top fives and five top-10 finishes with two pole awards.

Dillon and Menard will split time in the No. 2 for the rest of the season.

Follow @DanielMcFadin