Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

Chris Paul, Zach Randolph, Joakim Noah, Greg Monroe, Tobias Harris finalists for Citizenship Award

Zach Randolph, Chris Paul

Memphis Grizzlies forward Zach Randolph, left, and Los Angeles Clippers guard Chris Paul battle for a loose ball during the second half of an NBA basketball game in Los Angeles, Monday, Nov. 18, 2013. (AP Photo/Chris Carlson)


Luol Deng won last year’s J. Walter Kennedy Citizenship Award, which honors “outstanding service and dedication to the community.”

This year, Tobias Harris, Greg Monroe, Joakim Noah, Chris Paul or Zach Randolph will claim the honor.

This might be harder to pick than MVP.

By all accounts, these finalists do outstanding work in their community. But it’s difficult – maybe impossible – for writers to assess who did the most this year, because so much of the work happens behind the scenes.

There are a lot of NBA players doing good in the world, and that’s important. It’s nice to honor one for going above and beyond. Good luck to everyone voting in determining whom that should be.