Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

John Beilein joins sad ranks of coaches whose NBA careers lasted less than a season

Cavaliers coach John Beilein

CLEVELAND, OH - JANUARY 23: Head Coach John Beilein of the Cleveland Cavaliers looks on during a game against the Washington Wizards on January 23, 2020 at Rocket Mortgage FieldHouse in Cleveland, Ohio. NOTE TO USER: User expressly acknowledges and agrees that, by downloading and/or using this Photograph, user is consenting to the terms and conditions of the Getty Images License Agreement. Mandatory Copyright Notice: Copyright 2020 NBAE (Photo by David Liam Kyle/NBAE via Getty Images)

NBAE via Getty Images

Three coaches have begun their NBA head-coaching careers (non-interim) after turning 60.

John Beilein lasted the longest.

Beilein is resigning as Cavaliers coach stunningly quick, quitting after just 54 games.

But his tenure was still longer than Dave MacMillan’s with the 1949-50 Tri-Cities Blackhawks (23 games) and Jerry Tarkanian’s with the 1992-93 Spurs (20 games).

Considering his age (67), numerous problems in Cleveland and how he’s leaving, Beilein will almost certainly never coach in the NBA again. Maybe he’ll retire. Maybe he’ll return to college basketball. But the door to coaching in the NBA appears closed.

That’ll put Beilein on the unfortunate list of coaches whose non-interim NBA head-coaching careers lasted less than a full season:

Seasons are listed by end year. Coaches who took over in-season and were retained the following season are counted if their total games were fewer than a full-season’s worth. Not counted: Coaches who, back in the early days of this league, guided their teams in a previous league for longer.

John Beilein2020CLE1440
Randy Ayers2004PHI2131
Gar Heard2000WAS1430
Jerry Tarkanian1993SAS911
Morris McHone1984SAS1120
Don Delaney1981-1982CLE719
Tom Sanders1978-1979BOS2339
Bob Hopkins1978SEA517
Tates Locke1977BUF1630
Roy Rubin1973PHI447
Earl Lloyd1972-1973DET2255
Mike Farmer1967BAL18
Andy Phillip1959STL64
George Mikan1958MNL930
Chick Reiser1952-1953BLB822
Fred Scolari1952BLB1227
Dave McMillan1951TRI914
Howie Schultz1950AND2114
Roger Potter1950TRI16
Albert Soar1948PRO217
Dutch Dehnert1947CLR1720
Glenn Curtis1947DTF1222
Ed Sadowski1947TRH39