No hearing scheduled for Kesler after ‘dirty play’ on Dorsett
Anaheim forward Ryan Kesler has no disciplinary hearing scheduled for his hit on Vancouver’s Derek Dorsett from Tuesday night, per an NHL spokesman.
The incident occurred early in the second period. Kesler wasn’t penalized on the play; Dorsett left the ice in some discomfort and didn’t return to the contest:
Following the game, Vancouver captain -- and Kesler’s former teammate -- Henrik Sedin voiced his displeasure about both the hit and the referee’s decision not to penalize Kesler.
“We all saw the replay,” Henrik Sedin said. “I thought it was going to be a five-minute call.
“That’s what we all thought on the bench.”
So why didn’t a ref call a penalty?
“He said it was accidental,” Henrik said...
...Henrik was adamant Kesler should not, and will not, get off without being sentenced by the league for this one.
“If the refs miss it, that’s going to happen, but the league is going to have to take care of this because it’s a dirty play,” Henrik said.
“It shouldn’t be a part of hockey.”
Kesler suggested the hit was accidental.
“All I know is I was going for the puck and felt him hit me, hope he’s all right,” he explained, per the L.A. Times. “It’s unfortunate. It’s a fast game out there. Didn’t even see him. Wasn’t malicious at all. Just trying to get the puck out of the zone.”
The league could still schedule a hearing with Kesler, though it would need to reverse its decision quickly as the Ducks are back in action tomorrow night against San Jose.