Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

Video: Controversy brewing over Roussel’s bizarre opening goal after video review

Antoine Roussel's goal was immediately waived off, but after further review, it was deemed that the puck was unintentionally kicked by Roussel and the puck crossed the goal line before the net was dislodged.

Antoine Roussel’s first goal of these playoffs may be one of the more bizarre goals in the 2016 post-season. And it was instantly controversial, too.

Early in the second period of Game 2 between the Dallas Stars and Minnesota Wild, the puck deflected off the skate of Roussel from behind the net, landed on the back of goalie Devan Dubnyk and eventually fell into the net, which was dislodged as Dubnyk tried to squeeze the puck between his back and the crossbar.

Initially, the referee immediately waved it off, much to the dismay of Roussel and the Stars. Was there a kicking motion from Roussel behind the net?

After a video review, the call on the ice was overturned. It was deemed a good goal for Dallas, which took a 1-0 lead.

Here’s the explanation from the NHL:

At 3:54 of the second period in the Wild/Stars game, the Situation Room initiated a video review to further examine a play at the Minnesota net. Video review determined that the puck crossed the Minnesota goal line in a legal fashion prior to the net being displaced. According to Rule 78.4 “The goal frame shall be considered in its proper position when at least a portion of the flexible peg(s) are still inside both the goal post and the hole in the ice”. Good goal Dallas.