Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

Fukuoka, Doha chosen as World Aquatics Championships hosts


The World Championships for swimming, diving, water polo and synchronized swimming will be in Fukuoka, Japan, in 2021 and Doha in 2023.

FINA, aquatics’ international governing body, announced the decisions Sunday for its World Championships, which are held in odd-numbered years. Nanjing, China, was reportedly the only other bidder for the 2021 and 2023 Worlds.

The 2017 World Championships are in Budapest, which was originally to host the 2021 Worlds but took the 2017 edition after Guadalajara, Mexico, gave them up for financial reasons.

The 2019 World Championships are in Gwangju, South Korea.

Hungary, South Korea and Qatar have never previously hosted a World Aquatics Championships.

Fukuoka hosted in 2001, when a 16-year-old Michael Phelps captured his first global title.

The U.S., the nation with the most Worlds medals by far, has never hosted a World Aquatics Championships, which will celebrate their 20th edition in 2023.

MORE: Phelps discusses ‘Curtain of Distraction’ appearance

Follow @nzaccardi