Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

Club America captures Liga MX crown with conquest of Tigres


The streets of Mexico City are certainly lively right now, as the fans of Club America just witnessed their team win a 12th La Liga MX title by defeating Tigres UANL 3-1 on aggregate.

In the first leg of the championship, Tigres edged America, 1-0, thanks to Joffre Guerrón’s 64th-minute goal.

The magnanimity of this second leg, though, appeared to reinvigorate the Eagles en route to their 3-0 victory.

For Tigres, ending the season without a trophy was a bitter way to end a magnificent 15-game unbeaten run, but three second-half red cards--one to Darío Burbano in the 64th minute, another to Ariel Alvarez in the 67th minute, and the last given to Nahuel Guzman in the 72nd minute--essentially grounded any hopes of a comeback.

Michael Arroyo struck an excellent left-footer that beat Tigres’ goalkeeper Nahuel Guzman in the 36th minute for the match’s first goal. It was a great individual effort from Arroyo, who forced a turnover, advanced forward on his own and capped the sequence with a eye-catching strike at the near post.

About 30 minutes later, Pablo Aguilar stretched the scoreline to 2-0 by converting a set-piece ball from Rubens Sambueza, and Mexican international Oribe Peralta supplied a crafty finish near the outskirts of the box to hand America the trophied achievement.