Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up
NBCSports Header Logo

Five USMNT players up for U.S. Soccer Male Player of the Year


Clint Dempsey & Michael Bradley, USMNT — 2015 Gold Cup

AFP/Getty Images

Five players remain in the running to be named the 2015 U.S. Soccer Male Player of the Year, and only one has previously won the award.

Clint Dempsey will hope to win his fourth award and first since 2012.

[ MORE: Mourinho confirms that Diego Costa is not for sale ]

It’s hard to imagine he plucks the award despite his rampant goal-scoring in the Gold Cup given his massive suspension for accosting a referee during the U.S. Open Cup.

Given that, who’s else is up for the award:

  1. Michael Bradley -- the captain who picked up his 100th cap this season has inexplicably never won the award.
  2. Fabian Johnson -- arguably the best American going, could his argument with Jurgen Klinsmann hurt his chances?
  3. Brad Guzan -- He’s the American starting goalkeeper, so he’s got that going for him, which is nice.
  4. DeAndre Yedlin -- What an incredible rise for the former Akron and Seattle player.

Here are the nominees for the 2015 U.S. Soccer Male Player of the Year:

— U.S. Soccer (@ussoccer) December 14, 2015

Follow @NicholasMendola