Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up
NBCSports Header Logo

Four MLS sides make significant roster moves on Wednesday

New England Revolution v Chicago Fire

BRIDGEVIEW, IL - APRIL 19: Sean Johnson #25 of the Chicago Fire talks to a referee during an MLS match against the New England Revolution at Toyota Park on April19, 2014 in Bridgeview, Illinois. The Fire and the Revolution tied 1-1. (Photo by Jonathan Daniel/Getty Images)

Getty Images

While the 2016 Major League Soccer season is still in action, three clubs announced roster moves on Wednesday that will affect the complexion of their squads next season.

[ FOLLOW: All of PST’s MLS coverage ]

The Chicago Fire, Columbus Crew, Orlando City and Sporting KC all made significant changes to their rosters ahead of 2017, which included the releases of Justin Mapp, Steve Clark and Luke Boden.

The Fire, Crew and Orlando City finished as the bottom three sides in the Eastern Conference, leaving significant room for improvement next season.

Sporting KC was the only of the four teams to qualify for the MLS Cup playoffs in 2016, however, Peter Vermes’ side bailed out in the first round against the Seattle Sounders.

Here’s a quick rundown of each team’s roster moves on Wednesday:

Chicago Fire

Exercised options: Arturo Alvarez, Jonathan Campbell, Sean Johnson, Matt Lampson, Matt Polster, Brandon Vincent, Patrick Doody, Joey Calistri and Drew Conner

Out of contract: Razvan Cocis, Eric Gehrig, Nick LaBrocca, Patrick McLain, Alex Morrell, Rodrigo Ramos, Michael Stephens, Luis Solignac and Khaly Thiam.

Columbus Crew

Exercised options: Nicolai Naess, Dilly Duka, Marshall Hollingsworth, Cristian Martinez and Mohammed Saeid

Out of contract: Steve Clark, Matt Pacifici, Corey Ashe, Cedrick Mabwati, Chad Barson and Michael Parkhurst

Orlando City

Out of contract: Kevin Alston, Luke Boden, Seb Hines, Tyler Turner, Pedro Ribeiro and Júlio Baptista

Sporting KC

Exercised options: Saad Abdul-Salaam, Jimmy Medranda, Seth Sinovic, Benji Joya and Lawrence Olum

Out of contract: Nuno Andre Coelho, Kevin Ellis, Alec Kann, Chance Myers, Paulo Nagamura, Jacob Peterson, Ever Alvarado, Emmanuel Appiah, Connor Hallisey, Jon Kempin and Justin Mapp