Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

Jake Arrieta beats Clayton Kershaw, Zack Greinke for 2015 National League Cy Young Award

Jake Arrieta

Jake Arrieta


Congratulations are in order for Cubs right-hander Jake Arrieta, who was named the 2015 National League Cy Young Award winner Wednesday by the Baseball Writers Association of America.

Arrieta topped Dodgers co-aces Zack Greinke and Clayton Kershaw, earning 17 first-place votes to Greinke’s 10 and Kershaw’s three.

Arrieta had a sparkling 1.77 ERA, 0.865 WHIP, and 236/48 K/BB ratio in 229 innings this season for Chicago, leading the club to the playoffs for the first time since 2008. He threw a no-hitter, three shutouts, and led all major league pitchers with four complete games.

The 29-year-old Arrieta was especially dominant in the second half of the regular season, managing a 0.75 ERA in 107 1/3 innings between July 19 and October 2.

This is the third major BBWAA award for the Cubs this offseason, with third baseman Kris Bryant capturing National League Rookie of the Year honors on Monday and manager Joe Maddon being named the National League Manager of the Year on Tuesday.

Dallas Keuchel won the 2015 Cy Young Award in the American League.

Follow @drewsilv