Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

MLB, MLBPA announce Japan All-Star Series participants

World Baseball Classic - Tokyo Day 5

TOKYO - MARCH 09: General view of Tokyo Dome during the World Baseball Classic Pool A Tokyo Round match between Japan and South Korea at Tokyo Dome on March 9, 2009 in Tokyo, Japan. (Photo by Koji Watanabe/Getty Images)

Getty Images

For over 100 years, off and on -- more off than on, actually -- major leaguers have traveled to Japan for all-star barnstorming series of one form or another. The tradition will continue this November and this morning MLB and the MLBPA announced many of the participants in the series, which is being called the Japan All-Star Series.

On the squad are Yadier Molina of the Cardinals, Eugenio Suárez of the Reds, Christian Yelich of the Brewers, Ronald Acuña of the Braves, Rhys Hoskins and Carlos Santana of the Phillies, Whit Merrifield of the Royals and Chris Taylor of the Dodgers. Other members of roster will be announced in the coming weeks. Don Mattingly will be the team’s manager.

The All-Star Series will be played in Tokyo, Hiroshima and Nagoya, with an exhibition game played against the Yomiuri Giants on November 8th, followed by three games against a Japanese All-Star game in Tokyo from November 9-11, one game in Hiroshima on November 13 and two games in Nagoya on November 14-15. MLB Network will provide live telecasts of the games from November 9-15.

Follow @craigcalcaterra