Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

2016 Motorsports Hall of Fame of America inductees are named

motorsports hall of fame of america logo

The Motorsports Hall of Fame of America has announced its 2016 class.

Here’s the full release:


DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. - The Motorsports Hall of Fame of America (MSHFA) announced its 28th class of inductees today at Daytona International Speedway, continuing a long-standing tradition of honoring legendary figures from a wide variety of racing disciplines.

The seven-person class of 2016 inductees: Everett Brasher, Richard Childress, Gary Gabelich, Chip Ganassi, Dave McClelland, Sam Posey and Bob Sweikert. Collectively, the illustrious group represents motorcycles, stock cars, sports cars, land speed records, drag racing and open-wheel racing. They will be inducted on the evening of June 29 at Daytona International Speedway, the new home of the Motorsports Hall of Fame of America.

Friday’s announcement was made in the Daytona International Speedway media center as part of the Rolex 24 at Daytona weekend, with domestic and international media in attendance.

“Having our induction ceremony for the first time at ‘The World Center of Racing’ is going to showcase this year’s inductees - and all our our past inductees - in a manner befitting their accomplishments,” said MSHFA President Ron Watson.

“As always our inductee list reflects the breadth of racing achievement in this country. This year’s class demonstrated our continuing efforts to recognize variety in motorsports, an approach which respectively distinguishes us from other racing halls of fame.”

Among this year’s inductee class, Ganassi truly personifies those efforts via a career that has produced championships and milestone victories in open-wheel, sports cars and stock cars.

“I’m truly grateful and honored to be part of the 2016 Motorsports Hall of Fame of America class of inductees,” Ganassi said. “This is really a testament to all the hard work through the years by our drivers and teams.

“Many of the hall’s inductees are my heroes. To have my name listed alongside theirs is something I will always cherish. And to be inducted June 29 at Daytona International Speedway, where our organization has achieved so much success, makes this even more special.”

The MSHFA has previously inducted 223 motorsports luminaries; inductees are selected by a 200-person voting panel that includes past racing greats Mario Andretti, Craig Breedlove, Don Emde, Don Garlits and Richard Petty.”

Follow @TonyDiZinno