Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

Kyle Larson goes from 14th to first to win seventh consecutive start on dirt


Kyle Larson overcame a 14th-place starting position Wednesday night to remain unbeaten in seven races over the past 11 days.

Larson passed pole-sitter Tyler Courtney for the lead on Lap 18 of 30 to win the feature race at Gas City I-69 Speedway, the second track of the 16th Indiana Midget Week.

Buddy Kofoid finished second, followed by Courtney, Tanner Thorson and Gio Scelzi.

Larson, who gained 11 spots in the first 12 laps Wednesday, had won the Tuesday night opener of Indiana Midget Week and set a track record in his debut at Paragon Speedway.

‘THEY’VE STUCK BEHIND ME’: Kyle Larson comments on future, Outlaws plans

OUTLAWS TITLE? Larson won’t be winning the championship this year

According to Richie Murray of, Larson made his charge Wednesday after watching the line of Cannon McIntosh, who moved from 12th to fourth in the first two laps.
“Coming from 14th like we did there, that was a lot of fun,” Larson told “I saw Cannon get a really good start at the beginning, and I was like, ‘Man, I’ve got to get aggressive here.’ I saw him work the middle that first lap and pass everybody, so I was able to make that work for me the next few laps and really get by a lot of people there.”

Starting with a June 7 victory in the All Star Circuit of Champions at Park City, Kansas, Larson has won seven consecutive starts in three series across five states over 11 days.

He also won in an All Star Circuit 410 winged sprint car on June 8 in Oklahoma and June 10 in Texas.

Larson then swept the World of Outlaws NOS Energy Drink Sprint Car feature races June 12-13 at Knoxville Raceway.

It was the second Indiana Midget Week victory at Gas City for Larson, who also won in 2013 on the quarter-mile semi-banked clay oval.

Indiana Midget Week will move Thursday night to Lincoln Park Speedway in Putnamville, Indiana, and Larson’s streak will be in the crosshairs again.

A bounty of $1,000 was posted Wednesday for any driver who could beat Larson at Gas City (and it rose to $1,400 by the green flag). Because Larson won, the money was donated to the Indiana Donor Network in his name.

According to, Richard and Jennifer Marshall of Priority Aviation will carry the bounty over for each night that Larson doesn’t win.

Larson has nine consecutive Midget victories in the United States dating to last year, including his breakthrough in the 2020 Chili Bowl.

FEATURE: (30 laps, starting positions in parentheses) 1. Kyle Larson (14), 2. Buddy Kofoid (2), 3. Tyler Courtney (1), 4. Tanner Thorson (7), 5. Gio Scelzi (8), 6. Jake Neuman (11), 7. Logan Seavey (6), 8. Carson Macedo (10), 9. Tanner Carrick (4), 10. Kaylee Bryson (3), 11. Rico Abreu (13), 12. Justin Grant (19), 13. Ricky Stenhouse Jr. (5), 14. Daryn Pittman (16), 15. Chris Windom (18), 16. Kevin Thomas Jr. (9), 17. Daison Pursley (23), 18. Shane Golobic (22), 19. Zach Daum (17), 20. Robert Dalby (24), 21. Brady Bacon (20), 22. Cole Bodine (21), 23. Cannon McIntosh (12), 24. Thomas Meseraull (15). Lap leaders: 1-17 Tyler Courtney; Laps 18-30 Kyle Larson.