Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

NHRA makes slight change to 2019 Countdown playoff schedule

countdown to the championship 2018 logo

While there will be no changes in race track facilities, the 2019 NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series schedule will have a slight adjustment, according to the sanctioning body.

The change involves the six-race Countdown to the Championship playoff lineup.

While Maple Grove Racetrack near Reading, Pennsylvania, and Gateway Motorsports Park near St. Louis will remain the kickoff races to the Countdown, the order of the venues of the following two races will change.

Texas Motorplex has historically been the third race of the Countdown and zMAX Dragway near Charlotte, North Carolina, has been the fourth race. But the 2019 schedule will see those two venues swapped.

In other words, Carolina will be Race No. 3 of the Countdown going forward, while the remaining three races of the playoffs moving from east to west, with Texas (Oct. 17-20, 2019) followed by Las Vegas (Oct. 31-Nov. 3) and the season finale at Pomona, California (Nov. 14-17).

According to a NHRA media release, “The schedule refinement moves the AAA Texas NHRA FallNationals to take place after the NHRA Carolina Nationals in order to streamline travel across the country during the Countdown To The Championship.”

Follow @JerryBonkowski