Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

Pruett headlines 2017 Motorsports Hall of Fame of America inductees


DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. - The seven-member class for the 2017 Motorsports Hall of Fame of America has been revealed on Thursday at Daytona International Speedway.

The new group includes five-time Rolex 24 champion Scott Pruett, who was present for the announcement and will race this year in the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship, driving the No. 14 3GT Racing Lexus RC F GT3 in the GT Daytona class.

“This is exciting and humbling, and I’m not sure it’s entirely sunken in yet,” Pruett said. “There’s so many great things about coming to Daytona, and now being part of the Motorsports Hall of Fame of America. I’m honored to be a part of this and can’t wait to come back to be part of the festivities with this great class.”

Others include sprint car legend Steve Kinser, three-time Daytona 200 motorcycle champion Dick Klamfoth, two-time Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series champions Terry Labonte and Herb Thomas, drag racing and land-speed record pioneer Paula Murphy and multi-faceted legend Brock Yates.

This year’s class will be inducted on June 28 in Daytona Beach, during the 29th annual MSHFA induction ceremony.

Follow @TonyDiZinno