Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

Tentative Season 4 Formula E calendar for 2017-2018 released

Formula E Berlin ePrix,

BERLIN, GERMANY - JUNE 10TH: In this handout image provided by Jaguar Racing - Adam Carroll in the Jaguar I-TYPE during the Berlin ePrix, seventh round of the 2016/17 FIA Formula E Series on June 10, 2017 in Berlin, Germany. (Photo by Andrew Ferraro/Jaguar Racing via Getty Images)


The FIA Formula E calendar’s first draft has been released at Monday’s World Motor Sport Council meeting for Season 4, to run from 2017-2018.

New additions in Chile, Brazil and Italy highlight the revised schedule, while Argentina drops off. The calendar increases from 12 races in Season 3 up to 14 next season.

The start date will be later; Hong Kong moves from its Oct. 9, 2016 date this season to Dec. 2-3, 2017 date next season, and will be the only 2017 race before the break.

The German round is listed as a TBA site and venue while there is a full TBA date set for June 9.

A handful of weekends occur where both Formula 1 and Formula E are set to occur on the same weekend, with F1’s tentative 2018 calendar also released. As follows, those are:

  • April 14-15: F1: Bahrain, FE: Rome
  • April 28-29: F1: Baku, FE: Paris
  • June 9-10: F1: Canada, FE: TBA
  • July 7-8: F1: Britain, FE: New York
  • July 28-29: F1: Hungary, FE: Montreal

A handful of sporting regulations updates were also added:

  • Elimination of a non-qualifying session when two races take place during the same event
  • Increase in the number of promotional days from 3 to 6 days per team with a maximum of 3 days on circuit, to promote roadshows
  • Addition of a practice session day during the season and a practice session day reserved for rookies
  • Increase of power during the race from 170 kW to 180 kW

The 2017-18 FIA Formula E Championship calendar is approved as follows (*Subject to confirmation, **Venue to be announced, ***Date to be confirmed):

2 DecemberHong KongChina
3 DecemberHong KongChina
13 JanuaryMarrakechMorocco
3 FebruarySantiago de ChileChile
3 MarchMexico CityMexico
17 MarchSao Paulo*Brazil
14 AprilRomeItaly
28 AprilParisFrance
19 MayTBA**Germany
9 JuneTBA**TBA
7 July***New YorkUSA
8 July***New YorkUSA
28 JulyMontrealCanada
29 JulyMontrealCanada