Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

Kyle Busch won 2015 Sprint Cup title, but Harvick, Logano earned more


Kyle Busch capped his 2015 championship season by earning a combined $8,393,925 from race winnings, special awards and from the Sprint Cup points fund.

But it was Kevin Harvick who earned the most money among Sprint Cup drivers in 2015 at $11,730,460, according to NASCAR officials. A significant part of why Harvick amassed more earnings than the younger Busch brother was because the latter missed the first 11 races of the season recovering from racing-related injuries.

A total of 44 drivers earned more than $1 million this past season,

Joey Logano earned the second-highest amount ($9,663,863) followed by Kyle Busch ($8,393,925), Jimmie Johnson ($8,152,877), Jeff Gordon ($7,614,469), Brad Keselowski ($7,477,096), Denny Hamlin ($7,473,268), Matt Kenseth ($6,806,416), Dale Earnhardt Jr. ($6,761,500) and Martin Truex Jr. ($6,751,609).

Eleventh through 20th were Ryan Newman ($5,923,403), Carl Edwards ($5,787,488), David Ragan ($5,757,006), Kurt Busch ($5,752,866), Clint Bowyer ($5,702,243), Jamie McMurray ($5,680,016), Aric Almirola ($5,598,831), Greg Biffle ($5,555,082), Austin Dillon ($5,186,719) and Kyle Larson ($5,092,490).

From 21st through 30th were Trevor Bayne ($4,947,485), AJ Allmendinger ($4,872,864), Kasey Kahne ($4,863,754), Paul Menard ($4,635,345), Casey Mears ($4,633,656), Tony Stewart ($4,519,999), Sam Hornish Jr. (4,482,286), Danica Patrick ($4,097,299), Ricky Stenhouse Jr. ($3,985,317) and David Gilliland ($3,962,669).

From 31st through 40th were Cole Whitt ($3,718,652), Justin Allgaier ($3,350,649), Landon Cassill $3,258,211), Alex Bowman ($3,206,163), Michael Annett ($3,151,990), JJ Yeley ($3,036,443), Matt DiBenedetto ($2,981,653), Brett Moffitt ($2,959,923), Jeb Burton $2,176,387) and Josh Wise ($2,029,497).

Also topping the $1 million mark: Ryan Blaney ($1,673,128), Michael McDowell ($1,672,860), Xfinity Series regular Brian Scott ($1,093,844) and Alex Kennedy ($1,052,077).

As for the earnings from special awards, here’s the breakdown:

* Kyle Busch, $151,500, for the Sunoco Diamond Performance and Goodyear Tires awards.

* Kevin Harvick, $604,364, for awards including 3M Lap Leader, American Ethanol Green Flag Restart and the Mobil 1 Driver of the Year Award.

* Kurt Busch, $200,000 for Ingersoll Rand Power Move Award and Mechanix Wear Most Valuable Pit Crew Award.

* Dale Earnhardt Jr., $100,000 for MOOG Steering and Suspension Problem Solver of the Year Award.

* Joey Logano, $130,000 for Coors Light Pole Award.

* Matt Kenseth, $100,000 for Sherwin-Williams Fastest Lap Award.

* Brett Moffitt, $51,500 for Sunoco Rookie of the Year award.

A total of 78 drivers earned money for competing in at least one of this year’s 36 races.

Follow me @JerryBonkowski