Skip navigation
Sign up to follow your favorites on all your devices.
Sign up

Brees thanks offense by nickname at ESPYs

The 2012 ESPY Awards - Show

LOS ANGELES, CA - JULY 11: NFL player Drew Brees of the New Orleans Saints accepts the Best Record-Breaking Performance award onstage during the 2012 ESPY Awards at Nokia Theatre L.A. Live on July 11, 2012 in Los Angeles, California. (Photo by Kevin Winter/Getty Images)

Getty Images

Ostensibly to save time while accepting the ESPY award for the best record-breaking performance of the past year, Saints quarterback Drew Brees opted to thank teammates and coaches and other members of the organization by nickname.

Here’s the full list of players thanked by Brees, by their nicknames in the locker room. And they are: Lance Romance (Lance Moore), Colstonberry (Marques Colston), Meach (Robert Meachem, who has signed with the Chargers), Devereaux (Devery Henderson), Bush (Jermon Bushrod), Big Nick (Carl Nicks, who has signed with the Bucs), De La (Brian de la Puente), Jah-Jah (Jahri Evans), Striefer (Zach Strief), Jedediah (Jed Collins), Marky Mark (Mark Ingram), Sprolesy (Darren Sproles), Do you know Pierre? (Pierre Thomas), Baby Brontosaurus (presumably, Chris Ivory), D.T. (David Thomas), J.G. (Jimmy Graham), and Avatar (presumably, Mike Higgins).

Higgins a/k/a Avatar supposedly “hates” his nickname. Some have assumed that Avatar is Jimmy Graham, but there’s no other tight end who would be J.G. other than the guy with the initials J.G.

OK, so when do they send the Pulitzer?

UPDATE 7:20 a.m. ET: As pointed out in the comments, J.G. is John Gilmore, who currently is an unsigned free agent. So Graham really is Avatar. And boom goes the Pulitzer.